Department of English Studies

The Department of English Studies teaches English language and literature on all three levels of higher education, from the BA to the PhD. Our main areas of research are contemporary American, British and Canadian literature, English-speaking cultures, corpus linguistics, applied linguistics and translation history. Our department is one of the top trainers of teachers of English in Estonia, with extensive experience in language testing. In addition, we offer different courses for improving English skills, including in English for Special Purposes and in academic writing. 

NB! The department's homepage is being updated. Upon any questions write to Marilii Adamson (marilii.adamson@ut.ee).

#international #research
Filmy (installation shot), Mixed media. Alexandra Hughes

International Conference: Strange Intimacies

15.12.2021
19.01.2022
#institute #studies
Üliõpilased maailma keelte ja kultuuride kolledži raamatukogus

Library

12.12.2021

Contacts

   

Raili Marling
Head of Department, Professor of English, Programme Director (MA programme: European languages and Cultures, PhD programme: Germanic and Romance Languages and Literatures), PhD

J. Liivi 4-302
raili.marling@ut.ee

   

Jane Klavan
Associate Professor of English Language, Programme Director (BA programme: English Language and Literature), PhD

J. Liivi 4-301
jane.klavan@ut.ee

   

Enn Veldi
Associate Professor Emeritus, cand

enn.veldi@ut.ee

   

Katiliina Gielen
Lecturer in English Language and Translation Studies, PhD

J. Liivi 4-312
katiliina.gielen@ut.ee

   

Djuddah Arthur Joost Leijen
Associate Professor of English Language, PhD

J. Liivi 4-310
djuddah.leijen@ut.ee

   

Pilvi Rajamäe
Lecturer in English Philology, PhD

J. Liivi 4-311
pilvi.rajamae@ut.ee

   

Liina Tammekänd
Lecturer in English Language and Linguistics, PhD

J. Liivi 4-312
liina.tammekand@ut.ee

   

Reeli Torn-Leesik
Lecturer in English Language and Linguistics, PhD

J. Liivi 4-312
reeli.torn-leesik@ut.ee

   

Eva Rein
Junior Lecturer in English Language and Canadian Literature

J. Liivi 4-311
eva.rein@ut.ee

   

Natalja Zagura
Junior Lecturer in English Language and Teaching Methodology, MA

J. Liivi 4-301
natalja.zagura@ut.ee

   

Krõõt Kaljusto-Munck
Teacher of English and Swedish, mag

J. Liivi 4-309
kroot.kaljusto-munck@ut.ee

   

Inga Laant
Teacher of English 0.5 p

J. Liivi 4-310
inga.laant@ut.ee

   

Anett Raup
Teacher of English, MA 

J. Liivi 4-309
anett.raup@ut.ee

   

Ele Sepp
Teacher of English, mag

J. Liivi 4-309
ele.sepp@ut.ee

   

Liina Soobik
Teacher of English, mag

J. Liivi 4-309
liina.soobik@ut.ee

   

Ülle Türk
Teacher in English Language and Culture, Programme Director, MA

J. Liivi 4-301
ulle.turk@ut.ee

   

Eret Talviste
Research Fellow in Contemporary English Literature 0.5 p, PhD

erettalv@ut.ee

   

Sven Blehner
Junior Research Fellow in Germanic and Romance Languages and Literatures 0,75 k.

sven.blehner@ut.ee

   

Susanna Soosaar
Junior Research Fellow in Germanic and Romance Languages and Literatures 0,75 k.

susanna.soosaar@ut.ee

   

Anneli Sigus
Teacher of English (Adjunct Instructor), MA

J. Liivi 4-311
anneli.sigus@ut.ee

   

Marilii Adamson
Academic Affairs Specialist 

737 5218
J. Liivi 4-306
marilii.adamson@ut.ee